Posted by: infideltaskforce | February 7, 2016

More Reps Back Bill to Designate as Terrorists Muslim Brotherhood

Muslim Brotherhood supporters in Egypt. (Photo © Reuters)

Momentum for the Muslim Brotherhood Terrorist Designation Act continues to grow in Congress, thanks in part due to Clarion Project readers contacting their representatives. Five more members of the House of Representatives signed on in what could be a seminal moment in the fight against Islamism.

The additional five cosponsors are Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO); Rep. Jim Bridenstine (R-OK); Rep. Curt Clawson (R-FL); Rep. David Rouzer (R-NC) and Rep. Barry Loudermilk (R-GA). There are now a total of 20 supporters in the House of Representatives and two in the Senate, including the introducers. Two presidential candidates, Senator Ted Cruz and Dr. Ben Carson,  endorsed designating the Muslim Brotherhood as a Foreign Terrorist Organization (FTO).

The legislation explicitly identifies the Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR), the Islamic Society of North America (ISNA) and the North American Islamic Trust (NAIT) as U.S. Muslim Brotherhood entities and includes evidence tying them to a Hamas support network.

If passed, the bill would state that Congress believes the Muslim Brotherhood fits the State Department’s criteria of a FTO. The secretary of state would be required to designate the Brotherhood within 60 days or to provide a detailed report explaining why it does not.

The cosponsors hail from different elements of the Republican Party, reflecting a growing consensus among congressmen of different views about the need to designate the Muslim Brotherhood as a FTO. The list includes endorsers of Senator Ted Cruz, Senator Marco Rubio, Governor Jeb Bush, Governor John Kasich and Senator Rand Paul, who just dropped out of the presidential race.

The House version (HR3892) was introduced by Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL). It was referred to the Judiciary Committee’s Subcommittee on Immigration and Border Security on December 4, 2015. It is supported by three members of that subcommittee: Rep. Buck (R-CO); Rep. Steve King (R-IA) and Rep. Dave Trott (R-MI).

The Senate version (S2230) was introduced by Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX) and later cosponsored by Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT). It was referred to the Foreign Relations Committee on November 3, 2015. Presidential candidate Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) is on the Committee and has yet to take a position.

Read More HERE and see a list of those that voted for it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: